Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Duplex Budget in Sydney

Page 1 of 1
Hi everyone,

I'm looking for some feedback on a Sydney duplex budget I've compiled to make sure the costs are reasonably accurate. I'm new to building and have no construction knowledge or experience, so I've been lurking in forums and doing some research to pull together this budget. I'm hoping to get a good understanding of the potential costs before I start talking to my Bank and engaging an architect.

Some points of note:

Any helpful feedback would be greatly appreciated !

Spreadsheet is-
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1vlhLzh ... atOGf/view

Thanks
lawrikeet welcome to the forum
i had a quick look at your google sheets Some figures are way out mate ( some way too high & Low) and without sketches it's hard to check the data , you might also want to check your Percentage calculations as well?
Planning Fee is approx. .35% of $1m= $3.5K not $35K, I also should mention (lol) you aren't paying enough for the engineering $2K Total? (0.2%) this is way too cheap, & you are paying too much for the Architect. $15K (1.5%)
Target 2% X$1 m (total Build Cost)) = $20K Total all inclusive (Design,Engineering & Construction, 3D Model, Quants & Estimates)
BTW Attach/link the Preliminary Sketches (3D Bim Data) using G sheets, ie analytics with dynamic Building & Real Estate Data ie , try simulating/forecasting potential sales profits with at least 3 pricing options in varying markets,,etc
OT,I'll put some examples up on my google community I advise reaching out there if you want python scripts linking BIM Data & metadata.... the Bank Guys love this stuff.)
hth
Thanks for your feedback. I've read that you can typically spend 30K+ prior to construction so if you add architect/engineer/tests/reports/DA fees then that would sound in line with your feedback.

Were there any other line items that were glaringly off the mark?