Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Modified Noosa 25 in Lake Macquarie

Page 1 of 13
Hi All,

I have been reading posts for a few weeks now and decided to start my own thread more as a personal recount of the whole building process than anything else.

Our story so far:
We sold our first home in June 2015 after spending 10 years gutting and renovating the whole thing. We converted a run down little 2 bedroom house into a 4 bedroom family home. In those 10 years we got married and had 2 kids. Hubby is a carpenter by trade so did 99% of the renovating by himself, hence the reason why it took so long, plus the $$$. We purchase a block on land in Watagan Park, Cooranbong in July which was registered in late October. While waiting for the land to register we looked around at a number of different project builders before we finally settled on Coral. We each wanted something in particular in the house - I wanted a dedicated lounge room/activity area for our kids while hubby wanted to make sure our master bedroom was not at the front of the house. Finding a house that fit both requirements was near impossible but we found the Noosa 25 display at Woongarrah and modified it to suit our needs. We were able to stretch the house 3m in length to add in an activity room for the kids, create a big walk-in pantry for the kitchen, extend kitchen benches and add a study in also. We had a few issues arise with the drawing up of contracts and thankfully hubby knows a lot about the building industry so they were resolved eventually. As it stands today we are 2 days off start date
We have had contact today from our SS who has requested to meet us on site on Friday to go through a safety audit. I am a bit bummed out that this is happening a day AFTER start date but there isn't much we can really do about it. Fingers crossed things run smoothly now that we are on site because it has taken us nearly 5 months to get here (contracts were supposed to have been signed January 8th).