Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Engineers report

Page 1 of 1
Today I have received my engineers report for a new build in Adelaide. I don't like it. The builder is charging me an extra amount (some of it for something they cannot tell me, except that it's above standard footings and some for rock which they might find and might not find and then they will credit it back).
I'm looking at some options here.
1. Agree to everything and continue (but they are telling me that I can pay more for rock if it comes out). I wonder what kind of engineers they have if they cannot be sure.

2. Drop out of the contract. It's a house and land package. I'll loose the same on deposit + stamp duty on the land which I already had bought because they insisted on it).
3. Order my own independent engineers report and see what it comes to. (I wonder how much will it cost).
I'm a builder myself but from overseas. If I was overseas I would have done the 3 option and then came to some conclusions. But since I'm here, I'm kinda lost. They are telling me that my footings are above standard but don't want to show me what their standards are. They are telling me that they found rock 2,3 meters deep. but don't know where it is exactly and they don't know how will it affect the footings which are 0,5 meters deep. The house is a custom design, because the block couldn/t fit any of their ordinary designs.
If I was telling clients the same stuff overseas, I would be out of business in no time, but here it seems to be standard practice.

Need some advice please.
Thank you for your time.
What does your Geotech report say ?
How many bore holes were drilled,etc,
Soil classification, profile and bearing capcity?
Is there other alternatives for the engineering that could have been achieved through design changes
that may have saved you money?
Blah,Blah,blah
I would be more inclined to believe an engineer before I trust the salesman/builder?