Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Why does Henley do 2720mm ceiling height instead of 2740mm?

Page 1 of 1
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum and I'm a first home buyer, so it's my first time building...

I have been in contact with a sales person from Henley for some time, but noticed that Henley only offers 2420mm, 2570mm and 2720mm nominal ceiling heights rather than the more standard 2440mm, 2590mm and 2740mm. Does anyone know why? All other builders seem to do 2440, 2590 and 2740 nominal heights.
Henley did 2590mm as standard for us.
It could be sheet sizes and whether you have square set and/or small skirtings. Don't forget those sizes are frame sizes eg from the top of the floor joists to the underside of the trusses. 1200 + 1350mm sheets = 2550
Maybe the other builders giving those stud heights use bigger cornices to hide the gaps at the top of standard sheets??

Stewie
PEARZ

Thanks. So Henley can do standard 2440mm, 2590mm and 2740mm if required?

Henley's sale consultant said that to her knowledge, if not using square set cornice, it will be normal heights like 2440mm, 2590mm and 2740mm. However, square set cornice is not a standard inclusions with Henley anymore, but Henley still lists 2570mm and 2720mm as their upgrade options rather than 2590mm and 2740mm.

Did you ask for 2590mm explicitly without square set cornice?
Stewie D
It could be sheet sizes and whether you have square set and/or small skirtings. Don't forget those sizes are frame sizes eg from the top of the floor joists to the underside of the trusses. 1200 + 1350mm sheets = 2550
Maybe the other builders giving those stud heights use bigger cornices to hide the gaps at the top of standard sheets??

Stewie

Thanks Stewie. In the Henley's master drawings, it illustrates 2570mm as o/a plates for the ground floor and 2420mm as o/a plates for the first floor. And in the quotation, it states as below: