Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Building first home with Burbank

Page 1 of 3
Hi Guys

Well this is my first time using these forums and i've just signed the preliminary documentation with Burbank to build my first home, i've been reading through various posts and found it all rather interesting. Thought i might take the time to write a weekly post on my building experience from start to finish.

Over the past 6 months i've been looking at buying an existing home and found it all to hard, never really found what i was after and the prices were rediculous!

2 weeks ago i decided that building might be an option, i was aware of some good blocks of land at a reasonable price. I dropped into a Burbank display home whilst at work and the salesman was very helpful, he explained what i should look for in purchasing land and to be weary of slope / fall on the block as this could heavily effect site costs for construction. After a few beers a decided i may as well buy this land and worry about the builder later.

I visited Burbank, Dennis Family homes and Rivergum constructions. All were very helpful and very approachable but in the end it came down to price, inclusions and the time frame in which to get everything rolling.

The salesperson at Burbank gave me a checklist of what i needed to do and i was on to it imediately. After a few days i had chosen my ideal house and laid a deposit on the land.

Over the following week i spent many hours with the sale bloke who drew my land to scale and we finalised how the house would sit on the block, made some minor changed and added some extra's eg/ Eves, Panel lift garage door, and mirrored the front of house. I then signed the preliminary documents and it was all sent away to head office. In total this took less then 2 weeks. Freaky. Now i just have to sit and wait until they call me for final contract signing and my Edge apointment.

So far so good!!
I'm also building my first home with Burbank.