Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Question about building close to easement!!

Page 1 of 1
Hi All,

Today I heard from one of the sales consultant, if we build close to easement we need bored concrete piers.
My question is how close to easement we are allowed to build without having to put on the piers.

I have 2m easement at the back on a block of length 32m.
I was under the impression I can build upto 30m without any issues.

If my slab is till 29.9 m, would I still need piers.

Any insight would be helpful.

Thanks
Are you on a sloping block? My understanding was that you only get bored piers if there is a concern regarding the stability of the soil or if there is a lot of fill. We got the piers as we had a lot of fill to contend with. If no fill, then I can't see the need for piers at all and it should have no bearing on your easement. I'm no expert however, and may be completely wrong.
Thanks for your reply. Our block is flat as far as I am aware of.

It might be a council requirement. Have to check with SC again.
The location and depth of the pipe with in the easement is what determines how close you can build. The slab is not allowed to put weight on the pipe and hence break it or squash it. As a very basic rule of thumb the weight is distributed down and out at 45 degress
So there for if the pipe is 2m deep (to the bottom) you would roughly expect to be allowed to build a regular slab (for your area) 2m away from the pipe.
Don't forget the pipe will probably be in the center of the 2m easement.
Someone previously drew a little sketch in this forum.
Our house comes to within 100mm of the sewer easement and we needed piering along the back for exactly the reason mudmap outlined. Soil stability may be an issue, but it's more a general engineering thing based on proximity to the sewer.

The sewer isn't necessarily in the centre of the easement....ours is closer to the house than the fence.