Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Building the Santorini Grande: WE'RE IN!!

Page 1 of 19
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the boards. I've been lurking for a bit and am really impressed and pleased with the level of knowledge on the forum and the wonderful people full of honest and helpful advice. (Thanks to JohnandTarin for pointing us here!)

My husband and I have been househunting for a few years and just couldn't find something that suited our needs. We have two small boys (3 1/2 and 1 1/2) and one of our requirements was that we have enough yard space for the boys to run around in. Every house we saw that was fairly newish had almost no yard space. So we finally decided to knockdown and rebuild.

We're building the Santorini Grande with Masterton Homes in the Bankstown City Council area. We've been told by our Masterton Sales Consultant that we should expect at least a four month wait before approval, assuming nothing goes wrong. Sadly, it is likely to be worse. The house behind us is in the building process and we remember getting Council's letter last April advising of the build. They finally knocked the house down about a month or two ago and have just bricked up in the last week. So a full year to get to this stage (and probably a lot more, taking into account all the work that goes into it before Council notifies neighbours). They're building with Roselea Homes.