Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Building on extremely reactive soil

Page 1 of 1
Hi everyone

I'm in the process of building a house on an E2 soil with an expected movement of 105-115mm. Not really interested in whether or not we should be building on such soil as we don't have an option.

The engineers came back with a footings design with deeper beams (800mm) instead of piers. They claim the system is more than enough to cope with ground movement provided we stick to their recommendations around keeping the water away from the house. They also made sure to put notes on the design warning that external pipe breakage may occur and that we must accept that repairs are likely to be needed for cracks on linings, plasterboard etc.

My builder invoked the "I have been working with them for 15 years+ and have never had any issues with their designs" but that's easy to say when you structural guarantee is only 5 years. I've asked them to go back to the engineer and come up with a design that include piers to support the slab but I have the feeling they will ask us to pay for the re-design even though our contract has an allowance for piers.

Do structural engineers need some sort of accreditation and is there anywhere I can look them up for claims, issues etc? For instance, here in QLD you can lookup builders on QBCC's website but I haven't been able to find anything for engineering firms.
luckyhomeowner
Hi everyone

I'm in the process of building a house on an E2 soil with an expected movement of 105-115mm. Not really interested in whether or not we should be building on such soil as we don't have an option.