Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Perth - First Home Build Diary

Page 1 of 1
G'day everyone!

There are heaps of building diaries here, but I thought it's been a while since there's been one in Perth.

I'm a first time builder, with very little bit of academic knowledge in engineering for homes, little bit of academic knowledge for residential drafting & constructions. I've been looking into building and getting involved with various builders since mid 2020 (pre-covid and also pre-boom!)! A lot of plans fell through for many reasons, and we've been through;

- Designing & building with a builder, a multi-generation home of significant budget (KDR);
- Designing & self-implementing a cheap renovation;
- Designing & extending with a builder of a low budget;
- Independent design (using a residential designer) & tendering builders for a KDR of medium budget;
- Finally, design & building with a builder, a modest build (inflated price due to boom by this time), went back to the first builder! - Council approved, site prep & earthworks done already.

We learnt a lot, and I'd be happy to help if anyone is new to building! I'll try my best to answer any questions if you're in similar situation as me

We also hope that we can have some of our questions answered via the collective knowledge of the forum!

Thank you

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MILESTONE DATES
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
14 Feb, 2022 - Engaged Builder, Design based on off-the-plan floorplan started;
7 Apr, 2022 - Planning submitted to council;
13 Jun, 2022 - Pre-start;
27 Jul, 2022 - Fixed Price Contract signed;
5 Aug 2022 - DA Approval granted by council;
24 Oct 2022 - Demolition finished;
8 Nov 2022 - Earthworks started;
11 Nov 2022 - Limestones delivered;
14-15 Nov 2022 - Limestone retaining walls constructed;