Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Need Help

Page 1 of 1
Hi my name is Helen and I am a newbie as far as building a house. The house I want to build is a steel frame with vertical cladding. Will be going owner builder.

My problem is not so much the actual building side but the paper work side. I know I need a soil test and site plan all have been arranged. I have a basic plan of what I want. I have also sent away for a couple of quotes to find out basic costs. This has left me with two options that I like.

1. A kit house to lock up. Also includes plans to submit to council.
  2. Steel frames only. This also comes with the basic plan. I have all the other components I need to get it to lock up.

My problem is what do I do from here.? With the kit home do I need to get my plans drawn up by an architect before I agree to go ahead.?

With the steel frame I am thinking I need to get the plans drawn up by the architect and then send them to the frame makers to make sure that they can make them.

Or do I get the plans drawn up first and then find somebody to build it?

I know I am sad but this stuff does my head in.

Need help Helen
help008
Hi my name is Helen and I am a newbie as far as building a house. The house I want to build is a steel frame with vertical cladding. Will be going owner builder.

My problem is not so much the actual building side but the paper work side. I know I need a soil test and site plan all have been arranged. I have a basic plan of what I want. I have also sent away for a couple of quotes to find out basic costs. This has left me with two options that I like.

2. Steel frames only. This also comes with the basic plan. I have all the other components I need to get it to lock up.

My problem is what do I do from here.? With the kit home do I need to get my plans drawn up by an architect before I agree to go ahead.?