Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Powder room - layout advice needed

Page 1 of 1
Hi, This is my first build and first post. We are in the process of designing our first home and need some advice on the layout of our powder rooms.
To note: I prefer a hinged door rather than a sliding door as I feel they are more private.

Powder room 1 (downstairs) - Size 2210mm x 1186mm (ignore size in image) - Do you think we have enough room to add a swinging door here with the same layout? Should this open to the toiled or sink?

Powder room 2 (upstairs/near kids bedrooms) - size 1850mm x 955mm - I have included a side by side image of the 2 possible layouts. Do you think option 2 would leave enough space in the bathroom to wash hands etc?
Im concerned that with option 1 the sliding door will always be left open and it will be the first thing you see when going up stairs.

Thanks in advance for any help

Normally a door is 900mm. You should be able to have a swing door for your downstairs powder room, it just might be a little tight. I would have the door open to the sink.

For your upstairs powder room, looks like you will lose bench space of the sink if you want a swing door. Would you consider actually combining your powder room and the bathroom? This is just a rough sketch. I think this would be more practical? And it's a better looking bathroom in my opinion.

This is ours, quite similar, but we prefer sliding door as it's annoying to close a hinged door in a confined space. We put a privacy lock on the doors well. Dimensions are 2090x1450. The toilet cistern is in the wall which will give a little extra space.
Jason526
Normally a door is 900mm. You should be able to have a swing door for your downstairs powder room, it just might be a little tight. I would have the door open to the sink.