Join Login
Building ForumPaving & Concreting

Waffle slab whether exposure before framing?

Page 1 of 2
Hi everyone,

The builder I am intending to build our first home with is suggesting to leave the slab exposed for about a month before putting the house frame on. Builder's point is that leaving the slab longer without putting the weight, on allows it to settle down well. Doing that minimizes the risk of slab movement and then having minor cracks in the doors / window architraves .

As I am not experienced in the field, if you can share your professional advice and / or past experience would be highly appreciated.

Thank you
Cheers
Mixter.
sure concrete cures and becomes harder over a period of time around 7 days it will be 70%ish cured. Some builders like to wait a few weeks.

If you're building on reactive soils like clay, the more likely culprit of movement and cracks will be the slab moving when the clay expands and contracts due to weather conditions.
mixter
Builder's point is that leaving the slab longer without putting the weight, on allows it to settle down well. Doing that minimizes the risk of slab movement and then having minor cracks in the doors / window architraves .

I would say your Builder has no idea as his reasoning defies engineering logic or more probable is that
he is having problems with materials supplies and trades?

Loading the slab with material weight compacts the soil and reduces differential settlement that causes cracking
Thanks Noname,

The soil test of the lot returned with Class H2 , highly reactive clay site. and it's been titled more than a year ago and the constructions won't be starting at least until October. So, I think, the ground may have enough time to adjust to new moisture regime.

So, after the slab has been poured, it should be no harm to leave it to settle for around a month before they start the framing.