Join Login
Building ForumLandscape & Garden Design

Help - No idea about garden, plants, trees etc.

Page 1 of 1
Hello,

I am totally new to the whole landscaping, gardening thing and as we will be doing this ourselves very soon i am trying to figure a couple of things out.

We have been offered over half a dozen trees by my parents for the garden of our house.

We have a small backyard and a small front yard.

I have bought a couple of magazines and have been looking around to find ideas of what i like and so far i have a list of flowers and trees i like.

I realise some trees will be too big and i am hoping someone will be able to shed some light on this for me.

My parents have offered us the following trees if we want them, they are in pots and most are a few years old. Oak tree, Carob tree, Silver Birch, Nectarine tree, Apricot tree, Plum tree and a few others i dont know the name of.. we are thinking it would be nice to put the carob tree at the front of house but dont know if this is good idea or not.

As for the back i have very few ideas of what to do.
I like the modern yukka look but i dont want it in my garden. I love the look of lots of flowers and natural looking gardens.

This is my list of flowers i would love to plant.

iris
tulip
roses
violets
petunia
grape hyacinth
celosias

It may be obvious i have no idea what is possible and what is not... I love the look of full garden beds and i would love to cover underneath of trees with flowers and shrubs... something like this

sorry for loooooong post.. anyone who could help would be appreciated
well unless you are on acres you don't want an oak tree. the largest ( not the oldest) oak tree in Australia is in the main street of the town where I live. It's massive.
I guess where you are located will have some bearing on what you can and can't plant. I say this because many bulbs are also weed problems in some areas and not others
We are in Lyndhurst, Victoria.