Join Login
Building ForumKitchen Corner

Advice on wall cabinets above the sink and uneven bulkhead

Page 1 of 1
Hi everyone

This is my first time posting but I have lurked for a while and learned a lot from this forum! We have our draft plans for our kitchen and will be getting it all started in the next few weeks. I have a million questions but the most pressing ones for now are these:

1. Our sink is in the bench along the wall (rather than in the island bench opposite - its a galley kitchen design). One of the kitchen designers I went to said you could not put cupboards above the sink as you would bang your head on them when washing up. Is this right? So many kitchen photos I have looked at on the net have cupboards above the sink. He siggested we go with some shallow open shelving instead. I am thinking that above sink cupboards would not be very deep anyway so they wouldn't stick out too much into your headspace. Does anyone have any experience on this, or pics?

2. What is the minimum height between the gas stove and the rangehood? I am wanting one of those concealed undercabinet rangehoods, and I wuold like all the upper cupboards to be in line, rather than the rangehood/cupboard above the stove being a bit higher. If it ends up being quite high this might even take the above sink cupboards out of (above) the headspace anyway.