Join Login
Building ForumGeneral Discussion

3D Rendering Software

Page 1 of 1
I have engaged a small builder for the construction of my shack. Being a smaller company they do not have the in-house capability of producing 3D renders.

As my block is on a corner I do want to make the effort to ensure my shack complements the neighborhood character. I'm willing to have a crack at the renders myself. I did do professional CAD work 25+ years ago and currently use Fusion360 as a hobbyist for my 3D printing design work so I'm up for the challenge of learning new software.

What software do people recommend for producing good quality 3D external renders ?
I'm by no means an expert, but I taught myself SketchUp because it is a free app/program. It was what I used to create our house plans and provided adequate 3D models for my own use. The official plans were properly drawn though.
Possums
I'm by no means an expert, but I taught myself SketchUp because it is a free app/program...

Cheers, I will take a look.
theshack
I have engaged a small builder for the construction of my humble shack. Being a smaller company they do not have the in-house capability of producing 3D renders.

As my block is on a corner I do want to make the effort to ensure my shack complements the neighborhood character. I'm willing to have a crack at the renders myself. I did do professional CAD work 25+ years ago and currently use Fusion360 as a hobbyist for my 3D printing design work so I'm up for the challenge of learning new software.

What software do people recommend for producing good quality 3D external renders ?

I've used Sweet Home 3D which I've found useful for giving us rough ideas of how things will look and work together.
Lumion, but its $4k a year

work in Revit, export to Lumion, apply finishes, apply filters done