Join Login
Building ForumGeneral Discussion

Electrical supply to my shed

Page 1 of 1
I have a steel 9mtr by 6 mtr shed, 25 metres away from our house. I am restoring a car, and use a 150 amp mig welder, 3HP air compressor, angle grinder, and 4 fluro light tubes. I only run one tool at a time, and up to 4 fluros.

I have been using a 30 metre 15amp extension lead, with an orange electrical safety box at the shed end. The extension lead is laying on the ground.

Everything works OK.

I am not here for a whipping.

What installation would you suggest to replace what I am doing?
Your temporary requirements are being supplied okay by a 15 amp extension cord, so I would imagine you won't need it replaced by something too large in size.

I am not an electrician by trade, so take what I say with a grain of salt.

I personally would be going for 10 sq mm copper cabling run on a new circuit directly from your meter box to the shed, and a circuit breaker board in the shed to distribute power to your lights and powerpoints on different circuits off that board.

Yes, that's lot larger cable than your 15a extension lead is, but do you know what voltage drop are actually getting out there when under load ? You'd be surprised how much voltage can drop by under load on an extension cord.

One thing you can do to save yourself some money, is to do the trenching yourself from the meter box to the shed, but remember that trench needs to be a minimum of 600mm deep. Don't forget to take care of storm and waste water pipes and other electrical services running underground nearby.

Even though the extension cord is doing the job at the moment, you will do your motorised tools harm if they are running at too low a voltage. You also run the risk of accidental damage to the extension cord and longer term failure of that cord by being exposed to the elements on a ongoing basis... UV will have an effect on it over time.