Join Login
Building ForumGeneral Discussion

Building contract without land contract?

Page 1 of 1
Hi,

I've never built a home before, and have a lot to learn. Please be kind.

I have a block on hold, paid deposit and am just awaiting the land contract to come through so I can sign my building contract.

I was hoping this would have come through by now as the cut off date for building contracts is today (30/6) for FHOG in regional VIC. The grant drops to half from tomorrow.

Would you sign building contract before land contract comes through? Time is of the essence.

Thank you for reading.
Not sure if you are suggesting you already have the building contract or you're hoping for one to be generated today. If its the latter, thats unlikely to happen.
Noname
Not sure if you are suggesting you already have the building contract or you're hoping for one to be generated today. If its the latter, thats unlikely to happen.

I have it. It just needs to be signed.
if you already have the contract, and it addresses the costs (especially site costs) and you've had it looked over or are comfortable with assessing the terms yourself, you could sign it. But you'd have to have it fully executed AFAIK, so builder signs (if they haven't already) too. *NOT LEGAL ADVICE*
im assuming the builders have already done some preliminary due diligence on the block youre planning on building on
Noname
if you already have the contract, and it addresses the costs (especially site costs) and you've had it looked over or are comfortable with assessing the terms yourself, you could sign it. But you'd have to have it fully executed AFAIK, so builder signs (if they haven't already) too. *NOT LEGAL ADVICE*

They've emailed me a copy, already signed by them. It lists site costs. I'm building by myself and have never signed any contracts like this and don't feel super confident. It lists costs and site costs.
Noname